Click to Home

Go To Search
Ogdensburg Form of Government
Council-Manager Form of Government

The City of Ogdensburg operates under the Council-Manager form of local government, which combines the strong political leadership of an elected City Council with the strong professional experience of an appointed local government administrator.

Power Concentration

Under the Council-Manager form, power is concentrated in the elected council, which hires a professional administrator to implement its policies. This appointee serves at the pleasure of the council and has responsibility for preparing the preliminary annual budget, directing day-to-day operations, hiring and firing personnel, and serving as the council's chief policy advisor.

City Managers

In Ogdensburg, the Council-Manager form of government was established on January 1, 1970, through a Charter referendum held in 1969. Ogdensburg has had six City Managers since 1970:

  • Francis J. Culross Jr., 1970 - 1978
  • Gerald F. Johnson, 1978 - 1983
  • Daniel W. Fitzpatrick, 1983 - 1987
  • John C. Krol, 1987 - 2005
  • Arthur J. Sciorra, 2006 - 2012
  • John M. Pinkerton, 2012 - 2015
  • Sarah Purdy, 2015 -  

Home Contact Us Sitemap RSS FAQs Accessibility Translate Windpowered Privacy Statement Copyright Notice Powered by CivicPlus